The International Affiliate of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (IAAND) is pleased to announce the inaugural E-Global Mentorship/Collaboration Program. The program seeks to connect dietetics professionals from various parts of the world in a nurturing and supportive mentee-mentor relationship. The program also seeks to foster multi-cultural and international collaboration opportunities with IAAND members from different countries.

The mentorship/collaboration program will match volunteer mentors with mentees and collaborators from different countries for a six-month period. The period is planned from November 2021 through April 2022. IAAND’s program is unique from other Academy mentorship/collaborator programs because it connects experts from many countries, drawing from its worldwide membership and fully exploiting the cultural diversity of members.


Application process

If you are interested in participating in this inaugural program which is an ideal way to meet and work with dietitians and nutritionists from around the world, please read through and complete the e-survey for collaboration/mentorship needs. This form will provide some additional information on the program and request details about your interests and the role you would like to play (mentor, mentee, collaborator).  You are requested to answer additional questions based on the role you have selected.  Please complete the application by October 15, 2021.  This opportunity is only open to IAAND and Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics members.

Once you have submitted the e-survey, your application will go through a process of matching with other applicants for mentor/mentee and collaborator roles. You will be contacted by the e-Global Mentorship/Collaboration Coordinator if you are matched.

The purpose of the matching process is to find a suitable match based on the set goals and expectations of mentors, mentees, and collaborators. This will also facilitate the smooth running of the program and bring out the best possible outcomes for all parties. The matching takes place after recruitment is completed and is based on the following criteria:

  1. The interest and goals of mentor/mentee/collaborator
  2. Country – Facilitate global opportunities between countries from various Tiers (1, 2 and 3)
  3. Suitable time for mentors, mentees, and collaborators

Participants who are matched will receive a welcoming email and agreement to start the six-month program from the e-Global Mentorship/Collaboration Coordinator. You will receive monthly messages with suggested topics of interest, and at the end of the program you will receive a request for feedback about the program.


Tiers of developing countries is shown below

Tier 1: All countries not listed below

Tier 2: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, China, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Arab Rep., El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji, Gabon, Georgia, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Islamic Rep., Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Latvia, Lebanon. Libya, Macedonia, FYR, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Fed Sts, Morocco, Namibia, Palau, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, Serbia and Montenegro, Seychelles, Slovak Republic, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uruguay, Vanuata, Venezuela, RB, West Bank and Gaza

Tier 3: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Dem Rep, Congo, Rep, Cote d’Ivoire, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Haiti, Kenya, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papau New Guinea, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sudan, Tajikistan. Tanzania, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe